Kottiyam Police Station

Call Us : 0474-2530100 shokottiymklm.pol@kerala.gov.in
circle : Kottiyam Circle. Sub Division : Chathannoor

Kottiyam Police Station was opened on 04 02 1987 as per GO MS No. 223/87 Home Date 29.01.87. It includes the area of Chathannoor Police Station and Paravoor PS as per the above GO. It comes under Paravoor Circle. This Police Station comes under Chathannoor Circle on 04.03.1995 as per GO No. 15/95 Home TVPM date 27.01.1995. Now it is functioning in its own building.

Kottiyam Police Station is now functioning in its own building situated near Vanchimukk in Kottiyam under Thrikkovilvattom Panchayat. There is a new Parade ground constructed in the Station compound. This Police Station has an Aid Post at Kannanalloor, the most Sensitive area under Kottiyam PS Limit. Kottiyam Police Station is also a Janamaithri Police Station. The service of a PRO is being getting from the Police Station from 8 AM to 8 PM and the common people who are approaching the station will get legal assistance from him. Kottiyam Circle Office is functioning in a Rented Building owned by Kallada Irrigation Project situated 1 KM South West from the Kottiyam PS.

Sanctioned strength details

5 3 15 19 5

Parliament Constituency and Legislative Assembly

Jurisdictional area of Kottiyam police station comes under:

  • Loksabha Constituency – 1 - Kollam
  • Legislative Constituency - 1 - Eravipuram

Border Police stations

    Chathannoor, Paravoor, Kilikolloor, Eravipuram & Kundara are the border Police Stations of Kottiyam PS are the border Police Stations of Kottiyam PS.

Jurisdictional Courts

    JFMC – II Kollam

Government Institutions

  • Mayyanadu Panchayath Office, Mayyanadu
  • ThrikkovilvattomPAnchayath Office, Mukhathala
  • Block Office, Mukhathala
  • Village Office, Thrikkovilvattom.
  • Telephone Exchange, Kottiyam
  • Sub Registrar Office, Kannanalloor
  • KSEB Office, Kannanalloor

Important Hospitals

  • Holicross Hospital , Kottiyam
  • KIMS Hospital, Kottiyam
  • Medicity Hospital, Mevaram
  • ESI Hospital, Kottiyam
  • ESI Hospital, Thrikkovilvattom
  • Govt. Homoeo Hospital, Thrikkovilvattom.
  • Rural Health centre, Thrikkovilvattom

Important Colleges and Schools

  • MSM UPS , Thazhuthala
  • CFHS, Kottiyam
  • MGTHS, Mukhathala
  • MKLM HS, Kannanalloor
  • NSS UPS Mukhathala
  • NSS College, Kottiyam
  • S N Poly technic Institute, Kottiyam
  • S N ITI, Kottiyam
  • NSS Law College, Kottiyam
  • Don Bosco Arts & Science College
  • UIT, Mukhathala
  • Fathima Memorial B Ed College

Important Temples and Festivals

  • Murari Temple, Mukhathala
  • SubramanyaSwamy Temple, Umayanalloor
  • Sastha Temple, Kannanalloor
  • Ganapathy Temple, Thazhuthala


  • Amalothbhava Matha Church, Pullichira
  • St. Antony’s Church , North Mylakkadu
  • Our Lady of Dolours Church, Kannanalloor


  • Jumamasjid , Kannanalloor
  • Jumamasjid, Mylappooru
  • Jumamasjid , Kottiyam
  • Jumamasjid, Ithikkara

Important Banks and Financial Institutions

  • SBI, Kottiyam & Kannanalloor
  • Federal Bank, Kottiyam & Umayanalloor
  • South Indian Bank, Kottiyam & Kannanalloor
  • Central Bank, Kottiyam
  • North Malabar Grameen Bank, Kottiyam & Kannanalloor
  • Catholic Syrian Bank, Kottiyam & Decent Jn.
  • Union Bank, Kottiyam
  • KSFE Kottiyam & Kannanalloor
  • Canara Bank, Kannanalloor.
  • SBT Kottiyam & Kannanalloor

Accident Prone Areas

  • Ithikkara , Parakkulam
  • Mylakkadu
  • Parakkulam
  • Kaniyanthodu

Transportation- Main Roads

N H – 66and Kollam - Kulathooppuzha State Highway

Rivers and Main Cultivation

Ithikkara River

Main Projects through the Police Station

Janamaithri Suraksha Project and Safe Campus as part of Safe Kollam Project